Back to Portland

After four short hours of sleep the alarm clock in my hotel room unleashed its ugly scream. The clock slowly comes into focus.  3:45 am.  Is that even technically morning?  Cruel.

Everything in me said “just ignore it .. go back to sleep … this is a mistake … you can sleep in … there are later flights

I was just about to give in and doze off again until suddenly my brain kicked in and said “GET UP FOOL – YOU’RE FLYING HOME!”

I staggered to the window with a view of the purple spires of LAX and was surprised to see how much traffic was already flowing into the airport.  This helped to snap me out of the early morning haze.  I got dressed, brushed my teeth and was out the door by 4:15.


While waiting for the shuttle I hustled down the block and got a quick shot of the big LAX letters.  It turned out better than I thought it would, being that I shot it at 1/8 of a second at ISO 3200…


Now I’m back at home in Portland, with two and a half days to get ready -physically and mentally- to be gone til mid-June.

~ by robertwindel on March 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
